Nor deaf, nor blind

“Hear, you deaf; look, you blind, and see! Who is blind but my servant, who is blind like the one committed to me, blind like the servant of the Lord? You have seen many things, but have paid no attention; your ears are open, but you hear nothing.” Isaiah 42:18-20

In this passage Isaiah is writing about people of Israel, who do not listen to their God. But it remind me about times when I read the Bible and feel that I have an attention span that of a mouse. Did you ever feel you lose focus when you read God’s word? At times I have to re-read the whole passage, especially if my reading is from the Old Testament. I have to re-focus and pray for guidance before the meaning of the words can fully register in my sleepy conscience. It does not only happen when I am tired. Sometimes I feel sort of brain dead when I want to focus on my reading in the morning.

Does it ever happen to you- eyes would skim through pages without brain registering any meaning of what is in front of me. How do you make sure you focus on passages when you read them? I know when I need help and should ask for it. When I have trouble concentrating on God’s word, I ask Him to open my mind as well as my mind. I do not want to be blind and deaf.

Posted on September 24, 2010, in Christian Women, Christianity, Devotional. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

