Grateful Heart

“Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever” Psalm 118:1and 29


I love reading Psalms. They always remind me to rely on my Lord in everything I am facing in my life. There is a promise there of eternal love. No matter what the circumstances are we can cry out to our creator, and He is always there, He always listens. Sometimes we might not feel His presence in our lives and may get desperate. There are quite a few Psalms where we read pleas for help, deliverance, and mercy. Others are very uplifting. One of my favorites is Psalm 118. It is a song of a grateful heart where every word speaks to me.

“ In my anguish I cried to the Lord, and he answered by setting me free.” Psalm 118:5

“I was pushed back and about to fall, but the Lord helped me. The Lord is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.” Psalm 118:13-14

“I will give you thanks, for you answered me; you have become my salvation.” Psalm 118:21

Sometimes we have to wait for our answer for a long time. In difficult circumstances I need to remind myself who is in control and whose timing I need to rely on. It is not about me, even if I would like to think it is…

“This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24

I have heard this phrase so many times, yet there are many days when I find it quite difficult to simply rejoice. As a result it became one of my ongoing prayers:” Lord, please restore my joy. I am asking for a miracle here, please grant my wish!”

“ The Lord is God, and he has made his light shine upon us.” Psalm 118:27

On a gloomy day it is usually not that easy to think about Lord’s light shining. When days are getting shorter and the weather is not too nice, I need such a reminder. Funny, but as I am writing these words, the pouring rain suddenly stopped, and the clouds gave room for glimpses of blue sky and, yes, sunshine! Thank you, Lord!

“You are my God, and I will give you thanks; you are my God and I will exalt you.” Psalm 118:28

We need to live with an attitude of gratitude. I am also sure we need to give thanks in a midst of life’s challenges. I remember the story of Job, the truly righteous man, who refused to blame God for terrible things that had happen in his life. If you never read about him I would like to encourage you to open your Bible and go through the best inner-strength-building course I had ever come across. It is 42 chapter long and is nested neatly between my other two favorites: Book of Ester and Psalms.

“Open for me the gates of righteousness; I will enter and give thanks to the Lord” Psalm 118:19

Posted on November 20, 2010, in Christianity, Devotional. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

