Merry Christmas!

“And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people. Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord.” Luke 2:8-11


Today I stopped by the entrance to the store, where a young man from the Salvation Army was standing. He did not ring a bell and wished me “Happy Holidays”, not “Merry Christmas”… It made me wonder once again: what is happening? I hear “Merry Christmas!” less nowadays.

Last Sunday I picked up a new t-shirt from church. It is beautiful and flashy if I may say: bright red with a gold silhouette of the Three Magi on the front and lettering: “Keep Christ in Christmas”. I could not wait to get home and put it on. Then, once I wore it on a beautiful sunny SoCal December day, I thought: “Is it too much? I am going to attend a movie screening in a few hours with over a hundred people in attendance. Should I be wearing this?” Political correctness was slowly creeping in.

When I was first saved and worked with American missionaries in my native Ukraine, I believed the USA was a country of believers in Jesus Christ. Little did I know that I would learn firsthand about political correctness, Prop 8 in California, no prayer in schools… In a way, new Ukraine had more religious freedom after the collapse of the Soviet Union than we have here now. Making a stand for my Lord, my beliefs- am I too uncomfortable to do it on a daily basis?

“For I am not seeking my own good, but the good of many, so that they may be saved”  1 Corinthians 10:33

Posted on December 16, 2010, in Christianity, Devotion. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

