Memory loss

My memory is not working! For the last four days I have been trying to memorize a Scripture verse. Unfortunately, the four lines I want to commit to memory are escaping me.I used to memorize long poems and still remember them now- what have happened to me?!  I try over and over again to no avail. It is frustrating, it is not fair, it is not me! I remember something that came to me a while ago- a simple question:”Is there God in menopause?” How to seek God when your body is going through changes you do not welcome and at times do not understand? Why my memory is not the same it is used to be? How can I fix it? Would it come back? Is there a vitamin or an herb I should be taking? Lord created me a woman. Thankfully, I live in time when the information is available to me with a click of a button. I know I am not alone in my suffering and it makes me feel better- a little. Have you noticed that misery likes company? It is somewhat true in my case. Not that I wish suffering upon anyone, but when I read other people stories and can relate- it makes me feel a bit better. I can pray for those people and it makes me more compassionate somehow.

Let me try again those lines from the Bible:

“The Lord bless you and keep you;

the Lord make his face shine his face upon you

and be gracious to you;

the Lord turn his face upon toward you

and give you peace” Numbers 6:24-26

Yes! I made a few mistakes and had to cross out what I got wrong and add in bold print what it actually has to be according to NIV. But with persistence I will remember it all right. I even remembered the number of the verse- a bit of a progress. I think it is not all lost yet. I can train my memory with God’s help. Time for a crossword puzzle!

 

Posted on March 11, 2011, in Christian Women. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

