Challenges of change

P1050444

Just a week ago I received a message that an update was available for my cellphone. I went ahead, pressed a few buttons and shortly after discovered that now it looked quite different than what I was used to. I was somewhat disappointed at first. I liked the way the screen looked like before the update, I even thought that if I can go back I would, I did not think now it was an option.
The following morning I told my son, who was home from college, that all apps on my screen looked less “sophisticated” and more like video game images. My son, quite surprised that I updated my phone ahead of him ( go Mom!) inspected my screen and announced his verdict :”Cool!” That was youth talking. It reminded me how I embraced change when I was younger. I really did welcome it. Now I realized how much I changed. A couple years back I learned (oh horror!) that my Pastor and my primary physician where moving out of state just within a month of each other and that my hairdresser was retiring in a few weeks. I was so upset- how could they do it to me! But, of course, the did not do it to me, it was I who was reluctant to change.
When I just moved to the US I had to learn and discover so many things! I can say for sure those first 8 months were the most challenging in my life.
I can relate to many people who face various challenges after relocating. It does not matter if it is a move across the globe, across the country or across the state. All of them have their similar challenges, namely: leaving behind family and friends, familiar places and services. You will have to start all over again: finding doctors, dentists, hairdressers and simply you way around town. You will feel like a new kid on a block and it may remind you much if changing schools when you were a kid and all the insecurities it may bring. We all want to be loved and to belong. Remember all the crazy things some of us did in High School trying to fit in with the hip crowd? Entering a new well-established group, a new church for example, may feel like a Middle High all over again, but it need not be. Lord alone is your strenght and guidance and He will lead you in a right direction bringing right people into your life through what I call “Divine appointments”.

Thank God for technology! Now we have e-mail and Skype available on a cellphone! We can easily be in touch with those we leave behind. Can we please count our blessings without complaining? Some of us remember when a computer or a cell phone was such a novelty and it was very scary to use at first? How about switching from PC to Apple for some if us? It was scary at first and there is so much yet to learn, but I try to manage one little step at a time. We can learn to rely on God in all we do and all challenging situations we may face. He wants and welcomes our complete surrender to His will. Only then we can have our joy and our song restored.

“And be not conformed to this world, but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:2

Posted on September 26, 2013, in anxiety, Christian Women, fear of change. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comment

