Meditative Cross Stitching

Cross Stitching

“So I decided there is nothing better than to enjoy food and drink and to find satisfaction in work. Then I realized that these pleasures are from the hand of God.” Ecclesiastes 2:24

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve loved crafts. Knitting, crocheting, painting, drawing, cross stitching – you name it – I love them all! Over the years I’ve learned it’s okay to have various unfinished projects around the house. I can just pick them up as I feel like without feeling guilty of not having completed it within a deadline. In the past I used to knit or crochet something as a gift. Yet when a project has a deadline, it adds to stress, and that is the very thing I want to avoid. Now a mostly look at crafts as instruments to flow my creativity and don’t put any pressure on myself. I need this freedom now. I also have total freedom to choose what project to work on next.

There’s something very special about complicated cross stitching patterns. I love to work with blank canvas, looking at my pattern, watching the whole picture slowly appear as I work through it, adding colors and shapes. Still sometimes my OCD lifts it’s head… Many people I know get frustrated with the complexity of this activity, yet for me working on complicated patterns brings joy and relaxation. When I work on something beautiful, I don’t stress out or overthink the problems of a day. Somehow it prompts me to dream.

Sometimes in a corner or a thrift store I come across a beautiful cross stitched picture covered in dust. I would never know who made it, what their life was like nor what that person was thinking about as they spent numerous hours completing their craft. I wonder sometimes what would happen to the art projects I completed?

Couple days ago I decided to read the book of Ecclesiastes from the Bible. It was the first book I ever read when I started reading it 20 years ago. The phrase that goes as a refrain for the whole 12 chapters is: enjoy your life and fruit of your labor, and that all our worries, problems, struggles and achievements are basically meaningless. I often wonder what did the author exactly mean by meaningless?

“All is meaningless under the sun…”How meaningless is it? Should we just give up on searching for life’s purpose? Shall we never worry our heads with a legacy we are to leave behind?
As I ask these questions I am reminded that I don’t need to meaninglessly wonder through life because, totally helpless. I have God. What I need to do is to ask for guidance and listen for answers.

 

 

Posted on May 31, 2014, in Christian Women, Christianity, Crafts, Cross Stitching, Devotional. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Loved this post.

    Like

Comment

